Body

Power and Physicality: Writing Our Bodies, Ourselves

A generative workshop on embodied metaphor and physical writing.

Humans may feel out of control of our bodies sometimes. In healthcare, we may feel doctors tell us to take medicine we don’t want to take or have surgeries we don’t feel we need. In life, we face aging, illnesses, injuries, assault, trauma, pregnancy, abortion, joy, chronic pain, deep belly laughter.

Our bodies tell stories about our lives, and they allow other people to tell stories about us. People often make judgements about us by the things our bodies have been through. They have sometimes controlled our narratives by causing us pain.

By diving deeply into the scars, traumas, joys, and pain of our physical bodies, we can take back the power from people who have told their own stories about our bodies. This generative workshop will guide participants through embracing one’s own body through writing by discussing physicality, the visceral reaction a reader can have to sensory imagery, and guided discussions about body-centered short fiction and poetry.

What Participants Will Take Away

  • How to create imagery with sensory feelings.
  • 2-4 ideas for stories or poems.
  • Understanding how our bodies relate to our feelings of self-worth and power.

Suitable for all levels.

There will be an optional opportunity to share during the workshop.

Two dates to choose from:

Saturday, April 15, 2023: 7 AM PDT / 10 AM EDT / 3 PM BST / 7:30 PM IST

Saturday, April 15, 2023: 4 PM PDT / 7 PM EDT / 8 AM JST / 9 AM AEST

About Instructor

Finnian Burnett is a college instructor and creative writer. Their work has appeared or is forthcoming in Reflex Press, Bath Flash, Ekphrastic Review, The Flare anthology of chronic illness, and more. When not working too much or watching Star Trek, Finn spend their time catering to the needs of Lord Gordo the cat.

Click here for the Crow Collective Workshop FAQ.

Registration:

Click here for the text version of the first April 15 time zone map.

Click here for the text version of the second April 15 time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑