Editing

The Story Live Edit: Tools to Make Stories Stronger

Editing your own work can be a tricky business and people often don’t know where to start. You can easily get caught up in the thesaurus and swapping paragraph orders back and forth to no end.

In this two-hour session in we’ll begin by getting to grips with the core of your story as the foundation of all good editing, and build up from there. Bring along a flash fiction or short story and we’ll work through the key elements of editing:

  • The central idea
  • Character, time, place
  • Narrative arc
  • Voice
  • Scenes
  • Language
  • Dialogue
  • Pace
  • Rewriting vs Tidying up

Audrey will demonstrate with a story of her own so you can see each step of the process happening live, and work on your story during the session.

You won’t have to share your work but there will be opportunities to reflect on the process, discuss challenges, ask questions or read out some dazzling prose if you feel like it.

By the end of the workshop you’ll have more confidence in your ability to elevate your writing by editing and will have at least one story stronger and fitter, ready to go out into the world.

What Participants Will Take Away

  • A clear set of principles to edit by.
  • Greater confidence in editing your own work.
  • Better ability to spot what’s going wrong and fix it.

There will be an optional opportunity to share. Don’t feel like sharing? That’s totally fine.

Workshop Level

  • All Levels

Choose From Two Possible Dates

Saturday, March 11, 2023: 3 AM PST / 6 AM EST / 11 AM GMT / 4:30 PM IST / 8 PM JST

Sunday, March 12, 2023: 10 AM PST / 1 PM EST / 6 PM GMT / 5 AM AEDT

See below for time zone maps.

About Instructor
Audrey Niven is a writer, editor and coach. She runs The Propelling Pencil flash competition, reads for various others and judged the 2022 Mslexia Flash Competition. She’s been editing multiple forms of creative and business writing for over 20 years and her own writing is published in several anthologies and literary journals.

Registration:

Click here for the text version of the March 11 time zone map.

Click here for the text version of the March 12 time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑