Community

Build a Village: Creating a Writing Community

Writing may be a solitary act, but community enriches creativity and is a lifeline through the dark moments we face as writers. We find community in other people as well as community within (e.g. memory, intuition, and imagination). In this workshop I provide fun and original prompts to help nourish both of these types of communities and give you examples from my personal experience of building real life literary communities with writers from around the world.

In addition to writing, there will be time to discuss how we can better show up as members of virtual creative communities. In this workshop, fiction writers, poets, and creative non-fiction writers will have plenty of opportunity to write pieces which surprise and inspire them to keep writing and deepen their craft.

Participants will leave inspired to create their own literary community and feel a stronger sense of connection to the internal village that sustains their writing practice. Open to writers of all levels and genre interests. Sharing is optional and only positive, thoughtful feedback will be given.

What Participants Will Take Away

  • Original prompts.
  • Ideas and tips for building a writing community.
  • Stronger sense of connection to internal community.

There will be an optional opportunity to share. Don’t feel like sharing? That’s totally fine.

Workshop Level

  • All Levels

Choose From Two Possible Dates

Saturday, March 4, 2023: 5 AM EDT / 10 AM GMT / 3:30 PM IST / 7 PM JST

Sunday, April 9, 2023: 10 AM PDT / 1 PM EDT / 6 PM BST

See below for time zone maps.

About Instructor
Joy Notoma is a fiction writer who doesn’t know what she would do without her writing community. In addition to starting two writing groups, she founded the Europe chapter of Women Who Submit, and is a part of three more groups of inspiring writers. Her work is in Epiphany, Longreads, Catapult & elsewhere. She was longlisted for the 2022 Grindstone First Novel Prize. Joy leads workshops with New York Writers Coalition.

Register:

Click here for the text version of the March 4 time zone map.

Click here for the text version of the April 9 time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑