Constraint

Wild Restraint: Limits that Free Your Prose

My aunt lived in Thailand in the eighties. She would go to the grocery store and the options for toothpaste would be: one brand, one size, one flavour. Wondering what kind of toothpaste would be best never came into it. Then she moved back to the States. She found herself in the toothpaste aisle, staring at eighty brands, forty sizes, one hundred flavours. She stood there for half an hour, then burst into tears and went home.

What does this have to do with anything?

Staring at an empty page can be overwhelming. We don’t know which of the infinite options to choose. Creative constraint is the one box of toothpaste. It’s easy to choose, because it’s the only option.

Join me for this two hour workshop, and discover how strict writing rules can give your words MORE freedom.

What Participants Will Take Away

  • Creative constraint prompts that can be used again and again, resulting in new pieces.
  • Drafts of new pieces.
  • An understanding of what creative constraint is and can do for writers.

Suitable for All Levels.

Choose from two possible dates:

Saturday, March 4, 2023: 7 AM PST / 10 AM EST / 3 PM GMT / 7:30 PM IST

Saturday, March 4, 2023: 4 PM PST / 7 PM EST / 8 AM JST / 10 AM AEDT

About Instructor
Sage Tyrtle’s work is available or upcoming in New Delta Review, The Offing, and Apex among others. She reads for Hippocampus and Fractured Lit. Her words have been featured on NPR, CBC, and PBS and she’s been nominated three times for Pushcart, once for Best American Short Stories. She’s been teaching workshops since 2010 and runs a low cost online writing workshop collective.

Click here for the Crow Collective Workshop FAQ.

Registration:

Click here for the text version of the first March 4 time zone map.

Click here for the text version of the second March 4 time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑