Setting

Take Me With You: Creating Immersive Fictional Worlds

What does it mean when a story is described as having a strong sense of place? What makes a memorable, vital and dynamic setting in a story? How are different landscapes used to pull you into a fictional world, and keep you there until the very end? In this workshop, we will explore places and landscapes (real, digital and imagined) in flash fiction and short stories.

We will read and analyse a variety of examples, and generate our own pieces in response to writing exercises and prompts. No tourists allowed! Come and live, breathe, and immerse yourself in different fictional worlds.

I will also mention some of my own processes and what has worked for me in terms of my published work, and I’ll also share what my colleagues and I look for as submissions editors at literary magazines. So, leave the map at home – we’re making our own paths…

What Participants Will Take Away

  • Sample reading extracts.
  • Writing prompts and exercises.
  • Discussion and analysis time.
  • At least 2-3 drafts of your own.

There will be an optional opportunity to share. Don’t feel like sharing? That’s totally fine.

Workshop Level

  • All Levels

Choose From Two Possible Dates

Saturday, March 4, 2023: 10 AM PST / 1 PM EST / 6 PM GMT / 5 AM AEDT

Sunday, March 12, 2023: 3 AM PDT / 6 AM EDT / 10 AM GMT / 3:30 PM IST / 7 PM JST

See below for time zone maps.

About Instructor
Farhana Khalique is a writer, voiceover artist and teacher. Her writing appears in Best Small Fictions 2022, 100 Voices, This is Our Place, and more. She’s been shortlisted for The Asian Writer Short Story Prize and she’s a former Word Factory Apprentice. Farhana is also a submissions editor at SmokeLong Quarterly and Litro, and she’s taught workshops with Flash Fiction Festival, Dahlia Publishing and more. Find Farhana @HanaKhalique and www.farhanakhalique.com

Registration:

Click here for the text version of the March 4 time zone map.

Click here for the text version of the March 12 time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑