Speculative

Make the Sea Roar: Dive into Writing the Sea

Right there, practically on our doorsteps, is an endless source of inspiration. Stormy, calm, murky or clear – the ocean is a living, churning idea machine. In this workshop we will dive into a series of writing exercises designed to explore the ocean in interesting and unusual ways.

We will discuss the different relationships people can have with the sea and how that might affect the stories you want to write, and we will delve into some of the elements that make speculative fiction and the sea the perfect pairing for engrossing and vivid storytelling.

You will craft drafts imagining the sea as a setting, as metaphor, and even as a character. This will be a safe and positive space with plenty of encouragement to share your writing if you would like. The workshop is suitable for anyone with an interest in using the sea in their fiction, speculative or not (lake-lovers also welcome).

What Participants Will Take Away

  • Ideas for new stories.
  • How to use the sea to add metaphors and layers to writing.
  • Chance to write in a way you don’t usually write.

Workshop Level

  • Beginner
  • Intermediate

Date Sunday, March 5: 7 AM PST / 10 AM EST / 3 PM / 8:30 PM IST

About Instructor
Martha Lane is a writer by the sea. Her stories about grief, nature, class, and all things unrequited, have been widely published and can all be found online at marthalane.co.uk. Her speculative novella (about the sea) has been accepted for publication by Leamington Books and she is working on a new project…you guessed it… set in a seaside town.

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in February.

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑