Flash Fiction

Reach for the Stars: Extending Story Range

A very short flash fiction can resonate as widely as a novel and keep the reader thinking for months afterwards.In this workshop we will look at several examples of very short stories (100 to 500 words) to see how the authors achieve this feat. Sometimes it’s using sentences that make readers think, or it could be how the story is structured, the way it begins, and turns, the way it ends, the use of exact sensory details, surprise, perfect dialogue, setting, memorable characters and voice. And the use of white space.

I’ll give a prompt for you to write a fast draft about something important to you, something you would like a reader to dwell upon. After each story example (I will give links or send stories beforehand so you can think about them in advance) and a brief discussion, I’ll ask you to revise your first draft. If you want, there will be a chance to read out a couple of versions. At the end, you should come away with a piece that could have personal, family, national, international, universal and philosophical resonances.

Date Saturday, February 18, 2023: 8 AM PST / 11 AM EST / 4 PM GMT / 8:30 PM IST

About Instructor
Jude writes flash fiction and organises writing events. Her chapbook The Chemist’s House was published in 2017 by V.Press and you can find her work in many places online and in anthologies. She founded Bath Flash Fiction Award in 2015 and directs the short short fiction press, Ad Hoc Fiction and Flash Fiction Festivals, UK.

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in December.

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑