Poetry

Writing to the Body: Poetry of Disability & Illness

In this workshop we will write poetry about something that is with us everywhere we go, yet doesn’t always get our full attention: our bodies! We spend all day in our bodies, and yet we often don’t devote time and attention to our physical experiences. Our bodies can be a rich source of inspiration for poetry. In this workshop, we will read poems from living poets about their experiences with Disability and illness to see how they communicate the joys and struggles of the human body.

Generative prompts will be provided to help us talk to and about our bodies, with a focus on specific techniques and approaches that workshop attendees can apply in their own writing practice. Attendees will have the option to share drafts as part of the workshop.

While the readings and prompts will be focused on experiences of Disability and illness, the workshop is open to anyone who would like to attend, and all writing prompts will include options for modification to fit all writers.

What Participants Will Take Away

  • A new appreciation for the body as a source of writing inspiration and subject matter.
  • A PDF of all readings and prompts provided during the workshop.
  • A list of contemporary poets writing about Disability and illness for further reading.
  • 2-3 new poem drafts.

Suitable for All Levels.

Choose From Two Dates:

Saturday, February 11, 2023: 4 PM PST / 7 PM EST / 5:30 AM IST / 9 AM JST / 11 AM AEDT

Sunday, February 26, 2023: 8 AM PST / 11 AM EST / 4 PM GMT / 9:30 PM IST

About Instructor
Frances Klein (she/her) is a poet and teacher writing at the intersection of disability and gender. She is the author of the chapbooks New and Permanent (Blanket Sea 2022) and The Best Secret (Bottlecap Press 2022). Klein currently serves as assistant editor of Southern Humanities Review. Readers can find more of her work at https://kleinpoetryblog.wordpress.com/.

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in January.

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑