Reading Aloud

Your Compelling Voice: Reading Your Writing Aloud

Before the pandemic, I told stories on stages for ten years. I’ve written and performed three solo shows, I’ve spun tales in New York City and Newfoundland and India. I’ve won the Moth StorySLAM multiple times and the Moth GrandSLAM once.

The Toronto Star says, “When Sage Tyrtle talks, people don’t just listen, they hang on her every word.”

I know how to make a voice compelling. How to make the audience lean forward in their seats, eager to hear what happens next. You’ve heard people read their work aloud, and sometimes it’s astounding, and sometimes… it could be better. But how? Join me for Your Compelling Voice and find out.

What Participants Will Take Away

  • Simple ingredients that make a compelling reading.
  • Ways to avoid common reading mistakes.
  • A clear understanding of how to vary every aspect of the voice while reading.

Suitable for all levels.

Choose from two possible dates:

Saturday, February 18, 2023: 4 PM PST / 7 PM EST / 8 AM JST / 10 AM AEDT

Saturday, February 25, 2023: 7 AM PST / 10 AM EST / 3 PM GMT / 8:30 PM IST

About Instructor
Sage Tyrtle is a writer and professional storyteller who tells stories all over the world, most recently in India. Her stories have appeared in New Delta Review, The Offing, Apex, and more. She has been featured on NPR and CBC radio and she is a multiple time Moth StorySLAM winner, one-time Moth GrandSLAM winner, who has also appeared on the PBS tv show Stories From The Stage.

Click here for the Crow Collective Workshop FAQ.

Registration:

Click here for the text version of the February 18 time zone map.

Click here for the text version of the February 25 time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑