Prose Poetry

The Prose Poem: A Generative Workshop

The beauty of prose poetry is that writers don’t have to choose one genre over the other. Write an uncategorizable ode to porcupines? Describe a real-life moment situated between flash and poetry? Yes! You can choose both prose + poetry and then lose sleep over what category to submit to when sending the piece out to a literary magazine. Beyond defining prose poetry, we will analyze prose poems and their various elements: lyricism, pace, tone, and lack of line breaks.

During the workshop we’ll read exceptional examples plus generate our own prose poems. Attendees will gain insight on how to determine when it’s ideal to venture into this hybrid form, as opposed to solely using prose or poetry. There will be a focus on defining and executing specific techniques, as well as how to submit these blended pieces to literary magazines. The goal is to have fun and end the workshop with three drafts of prose poems.

Date Saturday, February 5, 2023: 6 AM PST / 9 AM EST / 2 PM GMT / 7:30 PM IST

About Instructor

Victoria Buitron is a writer who hails from Ecuador and resides in Connecticut. She received an MFA in Creative Writing from Fairfield University. Her work has appeared or is forthcoming in The Normal School, SmokeLong en EspaƱol, Southwest Review, The Acentos Review, and other literary magazines. A VONA fellow, her work has been selected for 2022’s Best Small Fictions and Wigleaf’s Top 50. Her debut memoir-in-essays, A Body Across Two Hemispheres, is the 2021 Fairfield Book Prize winner and available wherever books are sold.

Click here for the Crow Collective Workshop FAQ.

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in January.

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑