Queer Flash

Queering the Flash: Exploring Queerness in Flash
Queer stories, that is, stories with queer characters, add richness to flash narratives, and diving into the many levels of queerness can add edge and tension to your stories. Queer is such a huge spectrum and with changing language around identity, gender, and orientation, there are so many avenues to explore when it comes to queer flash. Join author Finnian Burnett to explore these depths of queerness, specifically as it applies to flash fiction.

Participants will do some guided generative writing and we will analyze some excellent queer flash stories and discuss exactly what makes a story queer. We will also dive into your personal stories. Sharing will be encouraged, but not required. Please note this workshop is for everyone and though it is a safe space for LGBTQA+ folks, I welcome and celebrate allies and anyone who wants to learn how to add queer characters to their flash. Come prepared to write, learn, and leave with your own flash stories.

Choose From Two Dates

Saturday, January 28, 2023: 7 AM PST / 10 AM EST / 3 PM GMT / 7:30 PM IST

Saturday, January 28, 2023: 4 PM PST / 7 PM EST / 8 AM JST / 10 AM AEDT

About Instructor
Finnian Burnett is a college instructor, a doctoral student, and a flash fiction addict. When they’re not writing, grading papers, or cornering people at parties to talk about the importance of plot and structure, Finn keeps busy tending to every need of their 20 pound cat, Lord Gordo. Finn’s work has appeared in the Bath Flash Fiction anthologies, Reflex Press, Ekphrastic Review, Daily Science Fiction, and more. Their novella-in-flash, The Clothes Make the Man, was published through AdHoc Fiction and another novella-in-flash, The Price of Cookies, is forthcoming through OffTopic Publishing.

Click here for the Crow Collective Workshop FAQ.

Registration:

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Click here for a text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑