Horror

Horrifying Ladies: A Woman’s Place in Horror

In this workshop, participants will learn the different roles that women have played in horror narratives over time, from the classics like Dracula to the genre hybrids like In the Dream House by Carmen Maria Machado.

This workshop will answer questions like: How is a woman’s identity a unique force in scary stories, and how can writing a woman’s identity into a horror narrative help the writer and reader understand the things that scare us? What’s different now that women are writing their own horror narratives that center the unique fears that come with living in a woman’s body in the modern world? Who is the audience for these narratives and what do the stories have to say to their intended readers?

Workshop participants will learn how to craft a horrifying scene using a unique fear, and how to avoid or subvert horror cliches. A generative workshop, participants will leave with a scene guaranteed to keep them up at night. All genders are welcome to attend!

What Participants Will Take Away

  • An understanding of how women’s roles in horror narrative have changed over time.
  • How to write a scary situation that reflects a unique fear.
  • How to avoid cliches that sap the scary from the page.
  • How to subvert a horror reader’s expectations.

Date:

There are two dates to choose from:

Saturday, January 7: 4 PM PST / 7 PM EST / 9 AM JST / 11 AM AEDT

OR: Saturday, January 21: 7 AM PST / 10 AM EST / 3 PM GMT / 8:30 PM IST

Scroll down for time zone maps for both dates.

About Instructor

Deirdre Danklin holds an MFA from Johns Hopkins University. Her novella, Catastrophe, is available from Texas Review Press. Her flash fiction collection, How to Start a Coven, is available from Variant Lit She lives in a haunted rowhouse in Baltimore with her husband and two cats.

Click here for the Crow Collective Workshop FAQ.

Registration:

Click here for the text version of the January 7 time zone map.

Click here for a text version of the January 21 time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑