Poetry

Images and Emotions: Poetry and the Senses

This will be an interactive, fun, and experiential session during which we will learn how poetry teaches us to live more richly because after all, our lives are based on emotions, and we inhabit that world the most, now more than ever. During the workshop, we will enter the world of images, emotions, and senses. We will learn to see the connection between these, and learn how to turn those into words. We will also learn the difference between symbols and similes, and when to use metaphors. We will discuss the ways poets across time and borders have approached emotions, and finally we will get to apply those ideas to our work. All the ideas and concepts will be discussed through prompts and exercises that will show us how to play with words and inhabit the world of senses. Finally, we will review the new poems that we have written throughout the workshop, and come away with fresh ideas and drafts of new poems.

Date: January 7, Saturday: 6 AM PST / 9 AM EST / 2 PM GMT / 7:30 PM IST (see below for time zone map)

About Instructor

Jonaki Ray was educated in India (Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur) and the USA (University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign). A scientist by education and training, and a software engineer (briefly) in the past, she is now a poet, writer, and editor in New Delhi, India.

Honours for her work include Pushcart and Forward Prize for Best Single Poem nominations in 2018, as well the 2019 Iceland Writers Retreat Alumni Award, and First Prize in the 2017 Oxford Brookes International Poetry Contest (ESL), among others. She has also been shortlisted for multiple awards, including the 2021 Live Canon Chapbook Contest and the 2018 Gregory O’Donoghue International Poetry Prize. Her debut poetry collection, Firefly Memories, will be available from Copper Coin later this year. Her chapbook, Lessons in Bending, will be published by Sundress Publications in March 2023. You can read more about her at https://jonakiray.com/.

Click here for the Crow Collective Workshop FAQ.

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in December.

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑