Speculative

Death By Volcano: Mixing Fantasy and Reality

Have you ever wanted to write about inviting dragons to tea or a sea serpent infestation in the basement but worried about getting the balance right? Have you wondered about whether an element of fantasy would add depth to your story interesting ways but have been afraid to try? Have you thought about using fantasy motifs to write about difficult subjects or to an unstick a story that has been struggling to find its way?

This workshop will look at blurring the lines between realistic fiction and fantasy, and making it work for you and your writing style. We will read some examples of stories that blend fantasy and reality, discuss what works or doesn’t work, and try some writing prompts. The workshop is suitable for writers of all levels who want to experiment with their writing in a supportive environment.

What Participants Will Take Away

  • At least 2 story drafts.
  • Ideas for further reading.

Date: Sunday, January 15: 6 AM PST / 9 AM EST / 2 PM GMT / 7:30 PM IST

About Instructor

Anita Goveas was first published in the 2016 London Short Story Prize anthology, most recently in Fractured lit and West Trestle Review. She’s on the editorial team at Flashback Fiction, an editor at Mythic Picnic’s Twitter zine and reads for the Flash Flood. She taught on Dahlia publishing’s ‘A brief pause’ programme, and runs flash fiction workshops with Farhana Khalique for National Flash Fiction day and independently.

Her debut flash collection, ‘Families and other natural disasters’, is available from Reflex Press, and links to her stories are at https://coffeeandpaneer.wordpress.com

Click here for the Crow Collective Workshop FAQ.

Registration opens November 1:

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑