Folklore

Once Upon a Time: Writing from Folk Tales and Myth

Folk tales, fairy tales, and mythology can be a rich source of inspiration for writers, and there are many ways to draw on this to enrich your storytelling. In this workshop we will explore some different methods of using folklore and fairy tale elements to craft compelling short or flash fiction. We will read and discuss example stories, both traditional and new or re-tellings, and try some practical writing exercises to have a go at creating your own. You will have the opportunity to draft an original fairy tale inspired by traditional elements, as well as considering how folklore and mythology can be used in more subtle ways to add depth and interest to your stories. There will also be the chance to share your writing and receive feedback, if you would like to. Participants will leave with several new drafts/story ideas, and a range of resources and prompts to refer back to. The workshop is suitable for anyone with an interest in folklore and fairy tales, at any stage of their writing practice.

Date November 12, Saturday: 6 AM PST / 9 AM EST / 2 PM GMT / 6:30 PM IST (see below for time zone map)

About Instructor
Sarah McPherson loves folk tales and myths and finding the weird in the everyday. She trained as an archaeologist before falling into a career in university administration, but has always loved words and writing. Her flash fiction has been widely published, nominated for Best Small Fictions, longlisted for the Wigleaf Top 50, and selected for Best Microfiction 2021. Currently she is working on her first novel inspired by the folklore of trees. She lives in Sheffield, is a serial crafter, and spends her weekends doing live action roleplay in the woods.

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in September.

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑