Editing

Fine-Tune Your Words: Improving Editing Skills

An interactive workshop wherein participants will be given some tools for improving their editing skills, as well as having an opportunity to edit a piece of their own work (or an example provided) and share with others if they wish.
The workshop will open with some editing examples from my own work. I will invite the participants to make suggestions on how to improve the piece and share with the group.

This will be followed by the exploration of editing tools, such as:

  • Using strong verbs;
  • Using dialogue and exposition to build character(s);
  • Using titles to strengthen a piece.

After this, the participants will be invited to use these tools to edit a piece of their own work (or an example provided) and then discuss in break out rooms.

Finally, the workshop will end with highlighting words and phrases to cut. The participants can return to the piece they used earlier, or work on a different draft to try this exercise.

Questions will be welcome throughout.


Participants will take away:
o New tools to edit old drafts;
o New confidence to cut out old words.

Date October 16, Sunday: 6 AM PDT / 9 AM EDT / 2 PM BST / 6:30 PM IST (see below for time zone map)

About Instructor
Laura Besley is the author of micro fiction collection, (Un)Natural Elements (Beir Bua Press, 2021), 100neHundred (Arachne Press, 2021), and flash fiction collection, The Almost Mothers (Dahlia Books, 2020). Having lived in the Netherlands, Germany and Hong Kong, she now lives in land-locked central England and misses the sea. She tweets @laurabesley

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in September.

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑