Near Future

Near Future: Writing Speculative Fiction

We all had ideas of what life would be like in 2020, and I bet we were mostly wrong. I know I was! Join me for two hours to talk about the wondrous and scary world of Near Future Speculative Fiction. All fiction involves creating our own worlds, but Near Future adds in PROPHECY. You get to look at the world as it is and decide how it changes and the ways that affects your characters, setting, and plot. We’ll look at Near Future novels and short stories, write to generative prompts, and there will be (entirely optional) space for sharing that writing.

Date October 15, Saturday: 7 AM PDT / 10 AM EDT / 3 PM BST / 7:30 PM IST (see below for time zone map)

About Instructor
Sage Tyrtle’s work is available or upcoming in X-R-A-Y, The Offing, and Apex among others. She’s told stories on stages all over the world and her words have been featured on NPR, CBC, and PBS. She runs a free online writing group open to everyone. Twitter: @sagetyrtle

Click here for the Crow Collective Workshop FAQ.

Registration:

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑