Queer Writing

A Queer Eye for Words: Exploring LGBTQ+ Poetry and Prose

Join writer Rosie Garland for this interactive creative writing workshop where you will have the chance to explore the richness of queer poetry and prose, and discover exciting strategies to create your own. There’s never been a more important time to tell our queer stories. Come and join in this workshop celebrating the diversity of LGBTQ+ voices, both poetry and prose, and have some fun creating. You can expect a variety of practical exercises and prompts to springboard you into writing. There will be time for discussion about what it means to write queerly. You’ll get the chance to read and discuss short extracts of queer writing in different forms – from poetry to fiction and beyond. Throughout, Rosie will provide guidance and encouragement for participants to explore their own writing through a queer lens. She will draw on her experience as a creative writing tutor, mentor and lifelong queer writer and performer. The focus will be on practical strategies to help participants develop and improve skills and techniques. With plenty of time for participants’ questions, she will reflect on the positives and potentials of writing queerly. They say speaking out is just as important as coming out. Writing Out takes it that step beyond.

Date October 15, Saturday: 7 AM PDT / 10 AM EDT / 3 PM BST / 7:30 PM IST (see below for time zone map)

About Instructor
ROSIE GARLAND has a passion for language nurtured by public libraries. Amongst other things, she writes long and short fiction, poetry and sings with post-punk band The March Violets. Her novel ‘The Night Brother’ was described by The Times as ‘a delight: playful and exuberant… with shades of Angela Carter.’ Latest poetry collection ‘What Girls do the Dark’ (Nine Arches Press) was shortlisted for the Polari Prize 2021. Her poetry features in ‘100 Queer Poems’ (Penguin Books, 2022) edited by Andrew McMillan and Mary-Jean Chan. Val McDermid has named her one of the UK’s most compelling LGBT+ writers.

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in September.

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑