Poetry

Hop Genres: Play Around with Poetry

Poetry can invite the reader on a journey and distill a feeling down to one shining image. Whether you write fiction, flash, memoir, or maybe you’re still waiting to find your way into writing – poetry can spark your imagination, get you unstuck, and offer a new way for you to tell your stories. Contemporary poetry is a wide-open space and there’s room for everyone. A vibrant indie community of inclusive, encouraging poets has grown around accessible online literary magazines, and we’re waiting for you to join us.

In this generative workshop, Jerica Taylor will introduce you to several contemporary poetry forms. Ready to write an ode to a random object on your desk? Burn a haibun? What about an ekphrastic poem about a motivational poster? A golden shovel with lyrics from your favorite song? You don’t need to know what any of these are! Show up with curiosity and hop over into this flexible, fun, inspiring genre. Participants will experiment with crafting multiple poems, share their work, and take home prompts and resources for further exploration.

Date October 8, 8 AM PDT / 11 AM EDT / 4 PM BST / 8:30 PM IST (See below for a time zone map.)

About Instructor
Jerica Taylor is a non-binary neurodivergent queer cook, birder, and chicken herder. She has an MFA from Emerson College. Their work has appeared in Feral Poetry, perhappened, and The Seventh Wave, and their prose chapbook of linked flash pieces is available from GASHER Press. She lives with her wife and young daughter in Western Massachusetts.

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in September.

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑