Blurring Genres

Tightrope Walking: Between Prose and Poetry…

A prose poem reads like prose but is poetic in its intent… but the language used in some micros can be so lyrical that it would be difficult to classify it as prose. Flash fiction can lie at the ‘undefinable’ intersection of prose and poetry and some journals specifically ask for weird and lyrical flash fiction. In this generative workshop we will walk the fine line between the two, with the excitement of not knowing where exactly we will end up. We will be looking at examples of prose poems and microfiction from international poets and authors (Gertrude Stein, James Tate, Kristín Ómarsdóttir to name a few). We will attempt to identify the characteristics of flash fiction/microfiction, poetry and prose as well as discover the differences between these genres. Taking inspiration from a number of writing prompts, workshop participants will be asked to use elements from these tiny jewels as starting-points for their own writing. Experimentation (for example with punctuation, fragmentation, repetition, line breaks) will be highly encouraged.

Date September 10, 9 AM PDT / 12 PM EDT / 5 PM BST / 9:30 PM IST

About Instructor
Nora Nadjarian is a poet and writer from Cyprus. Her poetry and short fiction have been included in various international anthologies, among others in Europa 28: Writing by Women on the Future of Europe (Comma Press, 2020) and the 2020 National Flash Fiction Day Anthology (UK). Her short fiction has appeared in Reflex Fiction, FRiGG, MoonPark Review, Lunate, Nurture, 100 Word Story and elsewhere. She was a finalist in the 2021 Mslexia poetry competition, won the Anthropocene Valentine’s Day poetry competition and was nominated for the Forward Prize for best single poem in 2022. She has led successful creative writing workshops for the Flash Fiction Festival (2019), the Cheltenham Poetry Festival (2021) and the Bonington Gallery and Nottingham Trent University’s Postcolonial Studies Centre (2022).

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in August.

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑