Caregiving

Our Aging Parents: Writing Flash on Caregiving

As the caregiver for my mom, I’ve found joy, sadness, and meaning in flexing roles as child and caretaker. It can be a bittersweet experience to watch the people who raised us age or ail, and often it brings child and parent closer together or farther apart. Writing becomes an essential tool for understanding this transformative period in life. This workshop is for those experiencing that role reversal, for people caring for someone who once helped raise them but now needs help themselves. That person can be a parent, a grandparent, an aunt or uncle, a partner, or a friend. Flash fiction and nonfiction authors have shown time and again that there’s resonance in the literary short form. This session will help you unlock the ability to write about caretaking in 1,000 words or less. We’ll read flash on the topic, discuss flash memoir techniques, and work on prompts together. You’ll come away with new stories on the topic and a connection to other writers with similar experiences.

Date October 1, Saturday: 8 AM PDT / 11 AM EDT / 4 PM BST / 8:30 PM IST

About Instructor
Kristina T. Saccone writes short fiction and nonfiction. Many of her stories are inspired by caring for her aging mother. Her work appears or is forthcoming in Fractured Lit, Cease, Cows, Gone Lawn, Molotov Cocktail, Flash Flood, Luna Station Quarterly, LEON Literary Review, Emerge Literary Journal, and others. She’s also querying a flash anthology about caring for our aging parents, and she wants to help others share their stories through short-form writing. Kristina lives in the Washington, DC, area with her partner, 7-year old, and two little rescue dogs. Find her on Twitter at @kristinasaccone and online at http://www.kristinatsaccone.com.

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in September.

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑