Platforming

Platforming: Telling the Story of You

Need a website? Wanna start a blog or podcast? Where do you get a logo? How do you pitch yourself as a guest on another creator’s platform?

Gone are the days of the reclusive author. Writers today are faced with a “many hats, only one head problem”. We’re asked to not only create, but become an expert at marketing, produce content like an influencer, and be in every place at once so we never miss out on a networking opportunity. On top of actual personhood, the to do list is enough to make the muse call in sick.

In this interactive workshop, we’ll discuss the importance of person-first platforming–choosing networking strategies that grow you as both an artist and a brand without stealing your joy.

Together, we’ll work through a Presence Plan, breaking down how to focus your energy, set boundaries, and generate evergreen content on your chosen platform.

Participants will leave with an individualized profile and checklist to help them take their next steps (or leaps!) toward presence over digital pollution.

Date August 28, Sunday: 8:30 AM PDT / 11:30 AM EDT / 4:30 PM BST / 9 PM IST

About Instructor
Natalie “Nat” Lockett is an author, writing coach, and podcaster of autistic and witchy proportions. Her podcast, Write Away with Nat & PJ has welcomed guests like Charlie Jane Anders, Erin A. Craig, Bob Eckstein, and many more. She writes horror adjacent fantasy in adult and YA, and her nonfiction work has been featured in Brevity Blog, HerStry, and Across the Margin. Her fiction is represented by Tara Gonzalez at Erin Murphy Literary Agency.

In 2021, Nat started Rogue Mentor, a program committed to providing resources to writers, as well as flexible, accessible, and inclusive mentorship opportunities throughout the year.

Nat lives in Wyoming with her husband, a zoo of pets, and her beloved rock collection. When not writing she can be found running a small marketing company and trying to convince herself to switch to decaf.

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in July.

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑