Poetry

ERASING WOR[L]DS: Erasure, Blackout & Cut-Up Eco-Poetry

This session will be educational, thought-provoking, practical and fun. We’ll learn a little of the history of the experimental techniques of erasure, blackout and cut-up, looking at examples from Sterne to Dada, and Burroughs to Bowie and beyond, and practice applying them to your own writing.

Although the focus of this session is on applying these techniques to poetry about the environment, nature or ecopolitics, this is not mandatory! These techniques can be used for poetry and prose and can be applied to any subject or source material.

This workshop is perfect for anyone wishing to try experimental practices for the first time, or for anyone wanting to try something new to get their creative juices going. You will need access to the Internet as a minimum to search for some source material and, if you wish, you may also bring hard-copy materials with you (such as a newspaper or magazine) to physically cut-up. However, it is not necessary to source any material before the workshop (there will be time for that built in) but if you have texts in mind, then do have them to hand.

This is a practical session, with plenty of time for you to create your own erasure, blackout or cut-up works, and share them with the group if you wish.

Date September 11, Sunday: 9 AM PDT / 12 PM EDT / 5 PM BST / 9:30 PM IST (see below for time zone map)

About Instructor
JP Seabright (she/they) is a queer writer living in London, UK. Their debut poetry pamphlet, Fragments from Before the Fall: An Anthology in Post-Anthropocene Poetry is published by Beir Bua Press. Their debut prose chapbook NO HOLDS BARRED is out February 2022 from Lupercalia Press, as is GenderFux, a collaborative poetry pamphlet, with Nine Pens Press. They are Assistant Editor for Full House Literary Magazine and in October 2021 were nominated for a Pushcart Prize.

More info at https://jpseabright.com and via Twitter @errormessage.

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in August.

Click here for text version of time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑