Metaphor

Motifs & Metaphors: Power Tools in Writing
Symbol, motif and metaphors create maximum impact when introduced subtly and woven-in along the progress of the narrative. Learn how to select your motif, and how to play with it to ensure maximum reader engagement. Find out how to build your metaphors in varying degrees of emphasis, and how to pick unusual symbolism to add layers to your writing. Know what structure can do, and what actions and dialogue can achieve to add depth. See how Conceptual Blending and Ideasthesia can be made use of in your writing. You’ll end with tools to help you reimagine the plot, and make your piece stand out in the pile. You’ll be able to create a sense of organic progress, while writing with natural flow in an effective manner. There will be enough examples, exercises and prompts to build-up a new set of stories in a friendly, supportive atmosphere. Suitable for all levels of experience, and both for flash-fiction and short-story writers.

Date
This workshop runs over two Sundays, two hours each day:

Sunday, September 18: 7 AM PDT / 10 AM EDT / 3 PM BST / 7:30 PM IST

Sunday, September 25: 7 AM PDT / 10 AM EDT / 3 PM BST / 7:30 PM IST (see below for time zone map)

About Instructor
Mandira Pattnaik is an Indian fiction writer and poet published in print and online in over 200 journals/magazines across fifteen countries. Her writing features in Best Small Fictions 2021, The Penn Review, The McNeese Review, Citron Review, Passages North, DASH, Miracle Monocle, Timber Journal, Bending Genres, Gasher Journal, Watershed Review, Amsterdam Quarterly, and Prime Number Magazine, among other publications. Four-times Pushcart Prize-nominated, four-times for Best Microfictions, and one Best of the Net, her fiction has been translated and highly commended by editors including Honorable Mention in CRAFT Flash Contest 2020, Highly Commended at Litro Magazine Summer Contest 2021, shortlisting at RetreatWest Micro Fiction and Strands International, longlisting at Smokelong Comedy Prize, Brilliant Flash and AWC Furious Fiction. She has read for, and edited literary journals, and is presently the Contributing Editor of Vestal Review. Her columns on writerlife and craft appear in Trampset and Reckon Review. She posts micro craft-essays every fortnight on mandirapattnaik.com

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in August.

Click here for the text version of this map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑