Flash Structure

Short Shorts Anatomy: Understanding Flash Structure
Writing flash is its own reward, but it’s also a great practice for novelists, memoirists and every other kind of writer. Writing flash loosens creative muscles, hones deep character development, and gives sanction to skipping the boring in-betweens.

While not all flash is structured, understanding the anatomy of a flash piece can help writers nail a perfect piece every time. This class will offer an in-depth look into the structure of a flash piece along with generative writing to practice using that knowledge. Geared toward first timers and experienced flashers alike.

Date August 13, Saturday: 7 AM PDT / 10 AM EDT / 3 PM BST / 8:30 PM IST

About Instructor
Finnian Burnett teaches undergrad English and creative writing. They’ve published in the Bath Flash Fiction Award Anthology, Ekphrastic Journal, Visual Verse, and more. In their spare time, Finnian Burnett watches a lot of Star Trek and takes their cat for long walks in a stroller. Finn lives in British Columbia with their wife and Lord Gordo, the cat.

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in July.

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑