Experimental

Challenging Assumptions: Unstick Your Fiction and Create Organic Surprise
You know what they say about assumptions?

Whether we realize it or not, when we write a story, it operates under unspoken assumptions. A story opens on a woman flying to Paris. The writer doesn’t say what she’s flying, so the reader assumes she is on a plane, not astride a giant eagle.

In this class we will identify the assumptions our stories are operating under, and by using an exercise to challenge those assumptions, learn how to unstick a stuck piece. If you’ve been in a rut, this is also a great way to fresher concepts. If you have a stuck piece, bring it with you! If not, no worries, there will be a brief generative exercise, so you’ll have something to work to learn the exercise.

We’ll also discuss intentionally crafting your prose toward assumptions that the story later proves false, leading to the coveted satisfying twist!

Date July 23, Saturday: 8 AM PDT / 11 AM EDT / 4 PM BST (see below for time zone map)

About Instructor
Caroljean Gavin is a writer and editor. Her work has appeared in places such as Milk Candy Review, Fractured, New World Writing, Best Small Fictions, and X-R-A-Y Literary Magazine. She’s the author of the flash fiction chapbook, Shards of a Stained-Glass Moving Picture Fairytale (Selcouth Station Press), and editor of What I Thought of Ain’t Funny, an anthology of short fiction based on the jokes of Mitch Hedberg (Malarkey Books/Mythic Picnic) and Saturnalia ’21 (LUPERCALIApress) She is on Twitter: @caroljeangavin

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in June.

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑