Hermit Crab

If the Shell Fits: Hermit Crab Fiction with Stephanie King
Have you ever read a story in the form of a letter or map or receipt and wondered how the writer managed to wring meaning out of a form like that? Found form or “hermit crab” stories take a well-known structure or object and bend it to their storytelling will. In this generative workshop, we will look at the keys to making sure that you’re still telling a great story in an unusual form. We’ll mix it up with an examination of what works in some selected readings and try our hand at sculpting our stories in the shape of something else.

Date July 10, Sunday: 11 AM PDT / 2 PM EDT / 7 PM BST

About Instructor
Stephanie King is a past winner of the Quarterly West Novella Prize and the Lilith Short Fiction Prize, with stories also appearing in CutBank, Entropy, and Hobart. She received her MFA from Bennington and serves on the board of the Philadelphia Writers’ Conference. You can find her online at stephanieking.net.

Registration: Want to register? Sign up for the mailing list and you’ll be notified when registration opens in June.

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑