Memoir

Writing Memoir: You have compelling true stories. But how do you choose the right ones?
I’ve been telling true stories on stage for ten years, all over the world. I’ve taught workshops in India and spun tales in New York City. Won story slams, been on the radio, even on television. And when stages vanished in March of 2020 my life came to a screeching halt. I decided to pursue a life-long dream of becoming a published writer. And it’s been going extremely well. Anyway. What the hell does any of that have to do with memoir? This: I’ve been telling my own stories for a long time. I’m good at it. And I know what ingredients make memoir meaningful. Join me for Writing Memoir, an interactive, high-energy workshop in which you’ll discover which of your stories will compel readers, how to shape them, and how to avoid the most common memoir mistakes.

Dates

There are two dates available, please choose one (see below for time zone maps)

June 25, Saturday: 5 AM EDT / 10 AM BST / 2:30 PM IST / 6 PM JST
June 26, Sunday: 9 AM PDT / 12 PM EDT / 5 PM BST / 9:30 PM IST

About Instructor
Sage Tyrtle is a writer and professional storyteller who tells stories all over the world, most recently in India. Her true stories have appeared or are upcoming in Lost Balloon, Pithead Chapel, Mayday Magazine and more. Her stories have been featured on NPR and CBC radio and she is a multiple time Moth StorySLAM winner, one-time Moth GrandSLAM winner, who has also appeared on the PBS tv show Stories From The Stage. She is a First Person Arts Story Slam winner and Audience Favourite. She teaches The Art of Storytelling in schools, to individuals, and in corporate settings. Sage Tyrtle was nominated for a Pushcart Prize in 2021.

How long is this workshop?
Two hours.

How is this workshop presented?
This workshop is online, live, and interactive. Participants are encouraged (but not required) to keep their video cameras on, as online events are much more fun when we can all see each other. We’ll gather on Google Meet, which is very similar to Zoom and has built-in closed captioning. You will receive the link for the workshop two days before it begins.

Will this workshop be recorded?
No, this workshop will not be recorded.

What is the Crow Collective?
Crow Collective workshops are by the writing community, for the writing community. The prices are low so they are more accessible, and there are two free spots (if needed).

Why can’t I access the ticket button using the Apple Eventbrite app?
This is a decision on Eventbrite’s part. You should be able to access the ticket button using the website instead. If you’re still having troubles, feel free to get in touch.


Click here for the text version of the above time zone map.

Click here for the text version of the above time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑