Story Setting

A World on a Page: Focus on the Story Setting

Flash is a medium through which you can create worlds in a few words and populate them with characters, too. Be it your kitchen or porch or a foreign land, oceans away, the place where your story is set in becomes real when described with the right detail. A sweep of color, a snatch from a song, a scent in the past, when woven into the story makes it live beyond the paragraph or page. The associations that a reader draws from these details make the story personal. The ownership then transfers from the author to the reader. But, sensory details must be used effectively and optimally to create the right impact. In this workshop, we will study examples, discuss craft, and write to prompts. Participants will have new drafts at the end of the class and can share their work in a supportive environment.

Date June 11, Saturday: 7 AM PDT / 10 AM EDT / 3 PM BST / 7:30 PM IST (see below for time zone map)

About Instructor
Sara Siddiqui Chansarkar is an Indian American writer. Born to a middle-class family in India, she later migrated to the USA. Her stories and poems have appeared in many publications, in print and online. She is the winner of the ELJ Creative Micro Non-Fiction Prize, has been commended in National Flash Micro Fiction Contest, and Bath Flash Fiction Contest. She is currently a Prose Editor at Janus Literary and a Submissions Editor at SmokeLong Quarterly. Her debut flash fiction collection “Morsels of Purple” is available for purchase on Amazon.com. Her chapbook will be released later this year. More at Sara’s Puny Fingers. Reach her @PunyFingers

Registration:

Click here for the text version of the time zone map.

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑